Author Topic: This hobby appears to require an ENORMOUS AMOUNT OF PATIENCE!!!  (Read 1808 times)

Offline keebler

This hobby appears to require an ENORMOUS AMOUNT OF PATIENCE!!!
« on: Sat, 05 September 2020, 22:11:35 »
I'm new to keyboarding, and was eager to "jump right in". However, I had no idea it'd be this hard: EVERYTHING I WANT IS ALWAYS SOLD OUT!

I'm looking specifically for (65+Hot Swap+QMK) keyboards, but....THEY'RE ALL SOLD OUT. I decided "oh, I'll just get a DIY kit and build it myself". Nope: ALL SOLD OUT.

(I guess restricting myself to hot swap/qmk makes me a snob? The thing is, I'm a noob and therefore the ability to try out different switches and keyboard layouts is incredibly appealing. Maybe when I find what switches/key mappings I like best, I'd be less concerned with the flexibility.)

Meanwhile, I thought I'd look into getting a new keycap set...simple, right?...uhhhh...NO. I mean, there's TONS of choices...................in the "Interest Checks" section! But ACTIVE, IN-STOCK keycap sets? NOPE! There's like...ONLY TEN SETS! And what I didn't know before, and I know now, is that for any of these ten sets, if I sign up for the group buy, I WON'T GET IT FOR 6+ months. 

This hobby appears to require an ENORMOUS AMOUNT OF PATIENCE!!!

Offline keebler

Re: This hobby appears to require an ENORMOUS AMOUNT OF PATIENCE!!!
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 05 September 2020, 22:13:49 »
By the way...I'm not mad at anyone, just venting.

Also if anyone can prove me wrong and guide me on how to do a decent DIY 65+HotSwap+QMK keyboard without waiting for months I'd appreciate it.

Offline Hellcatz

« Reply #2 on: Sat, 05 September 2020, 23:24:43 »
I would hope that if you are willing to spend loads of money on your keyboard you would at least take the time to plan your build out. kbd fans, kp republic and alixpress have kits you can purchase if you just want to dip your toes.
« Last Edit: Sat, 05 September 2020, 23:27:11 by Hellcatz »

Offline jamster