Author Topic: Feedback wanted: Rigel96, a mid-ergonomic, split, columnar keyboard  (Read 4392 times)

Offline ncw33

Hello everyone,

I'm new to geekhack, and indeed, haven't designed a keyboard before. But, I'm hoping for some feedback on my thoughts about a keyboard design.

I'm written a long brain-dump on GitHub here: https://keyboards.nicholaswilson.me.uk/rigel96/

To summarize, firstly, I'm puzzled by the lack of cross-over between the two keyboard communities (mainstream 65% boards vs ergonomic boards).

It looks like there's a gap in the community (or in the market) for a keyboard that's more ergonomic than a standard 65%, but wouldn't feel like a step down or compromise for for the people who are currently enjoying their 65%, worrying about lubing their switches, trying out different plate mounting systems, etc.

Secondly, I have a suggestion for some design goals that try and address that gap:
1. To make an ergonomic board that doesn't re-arrange the standard key assignments, since people seem very attached to that.
2. No compromise on typing feel. Ergonomic, but with the best features of a premium 65%.
3. No trade-offs or decisions bad for ergonomics.

Finally, I have a proposal for a keyboard:

Rigel96, a 96% ergonomic keyboard

Columnar, but with standard key assignments. Basically what Alice should have been.

Split, because that's the most flexible form factor.

So far, I have a CAD design for the bent plate, and I plan of how to manufacture it (laser-cut, then bent with a 3D-printed or steel die in a press).

Questions for feedback:

1. Is this crazy? Am I crazy? Why has this not been done before, as far as I can tell?

2. Any feedback on the design? Is the plate design something that any of you would be interested in actually typing on?

3. I plan to go ahead and make some of these plates, for prototyping. Is there anyone here who'd be interested in joining in, and making/ordering a prototype with me?

Offline vvp