Author Topic: What to choose....? Mechanical Keyboards  (Read 1728 times)

Offline leeboii

What to choose....? Mechanical Keyboards
« on: Tue, 09 April 2013, 02:44:11 »
Hi Everyone,

I have decided to invest in a mechanical keyboard, but I don't know which one to choose...

I own a macbook pro (don't hate) so obviously I need a keyboard which is compatible with it. I'm just a student and I use my computer for productivity and i rarely play games on it. Whilst I work, my parents are not so far away so I don't really want to disturb them nor do I want to go insane from an overdose of clicky clack syndrome and hate mechanical keyboards for the rest of my life.

Here are the contestants

1. Das Keyboard (Mac version) http://www.daskeyboard.com/model-s-professional-for-mac/
2. Matias Quiet Pro http://www.matias.ca/quietpro/mac/
3. Matias Laptop Pro http://matias.ca/laptoppro/mac/    <---- because it's wireless (prefer it to be wireless)

I live in Australia so sadly I am unable to find these keyboards in store and try them...

Thanks for your time :D

Offline arkazar

• im CRAZY!!!!
Re: What to choose....? Mechanical Keyboards
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 10 April 2013, 14:14:49 »
hello and welcome to the forum.

i would recommend Das Keyboard...its fantastic one!

cheers

Offline Burz

• maybe get a blister on yo' little finger...
« Reply #2 on: Thu, 11 April 2013, 01:27:10 »
The Laptop Pro has is all over the Das (which isn't really quiet anyway).

The only real downside I can think of to the Laptop Pro is that its currently on pre-order and won't ship for at least a couple of weeks. Plus it doesn't have a real USB hub like the wired Matias models. And some people dislike the case finish (OK, that's 3 things).

Otherwise if you want something quiet and tactile, the Thinkpad USB keyboard is a great choice. Its scissor switch, not mechanical, but it feels excellent.

Matias Mini QuietPro  \\ Dell AT101W - Black ALPS  \\ SIIG MiniTouch x2 White XM - Monterey  \\ Colemak layout.