Author Topic: Lead Free Solder? Newbie interested in Ergodox  (Read 4009 times)

Offline reziak

• Topre/60% Enthusiast
Lead Free Solder? Newbie interested in Ergodox
« on: Sat, 23 November 2013, 11:38:43 »
Hey all,

I have no experience soldering, but have been interested in learning how to for a while. With the Ergodox groupbuy going on right now I was wondering if those with more experience would recommend it as a first project to learn on. Thanks for the input!

Edit: New question at the bottom!
« Last Edit: Sat, 11 January 2014, 14:51:26 by reziak »

HHKB Pro 2 | FC660C | HHKB Pro 2 Type-S

Offline AKmalamute

• HHKB Scrub
Re: Newbie interested in Ergodox
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 23 November 2013, 12:13:11 »
Its the ergodox. If starting there is the only way to be here, at this time in your life, then obviously the top of the chain is where you start.

No but seriously I've never soldered anything together, and have only un-soldered one keyboard but still plan on making myself this keyboard. It has very thorough directions and there are youtube videos (probably some on Vimeo too) showing the construction of  this very keyboard.

I'm pretty sure you'll do fine, but I will say that I'm, for myself, probably going to let this drop go by so I can buy a board from another GB, build that and probably sell the keyboard. Strictly for the experience, so that when I build my dream keyboard ... it will be everything I hope for.

Although I don't think you can go too far wrong putting it together, function wise. Just don't let the solder cause the streams to cross and it'll be fine even if it looks like it was built in a garage by some guy that doesn't know how to solder.

HHKB-lite2, Dvorak user

Offline effnish

« Reply #2 on: Sat, 23 November 2013, 17:29:20 »