Author Topic: Would clears be a bad idea for gaming?  (Read 8733 times)

Offline wes1099

• Technology and Dog Enthusiast
Would clears be a bad idea for gaming?
« on: Mon, 25 August 2014, 08:47:50 »
I have been using reds for about a year now and I realized that I tend to smash them rather violently, and I recently got my keyswitch tester and I like the clears, but I'm not sure if they would be too heavy after using them for a long time. Anyone have any opinions?

[Leopold FC660C]     [GON NeRD 60]    [Infinity Keyboard]    [ Model M Silver Label]
[Topre 45g Silent]     [Gateron Black]    [Cherry MX Black]     [Model Number 1390636]
                                                                                         [May 20, 1987]

Offline Data

Re: Would clears be a bad idea for gaming?
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 25 August 2014, 08:55:38 »
I have no experience going from red to clear, but if you already mash your reds you might appreciate the stronger spring and tactile bump on the clears.  I'm not sure if double-tapping is a problem or not.

I game on browns.

Offline jameslr

« Reply #2 on: Mon, 25 August 2014, 08:55:59 »
I just started typing on clears, but I really like them. Stock clears are the closest MX switch to my favorite switch, Topre 55g. As for gaming, I don't have any problems gaming on Topre 55g, but I'm not a competitive gamer by any stretch.
CM Novatouch | Filco MJ2 TKL w/ HID Lib | REΛLFORCE 87U 55g | CM QFR

Offline Mooby

• Funployee
« Reply #3 on: Mon, 25 August 2014, 09:01:24 »
Get a board with clears and try out yourself. If you find out clears aren't for you sell the board with some loss. If you're not willing to pay that price to experience a new switch, then stick to the reds. Nobody will be able to tell you what you like, and all recommendations regarding the uses of the different switch types will be highly subjective. I'd prefer linears for gaming, but there are others that like tactiles better.

Offline Lpwl

• lpwl.bigcartel.com