Author Topic: Designing a custom right hand photoshop input tool  (Read 1683 times)

Offline Chemoletter

Designing a custom right hand photoshop input tool
« on: Fri, 02 May 2014, 04:31:36 »
Hi people,

after finishing my phantom with case (  http://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=57434.0  ), i woke up this night and thought: "i need to build something crazy because i do photoshop all the time - for a living - and do not own a customized input tool." i have a logitech G13 which is kind of o.k. for the job but it's not mechanical and it lacks the ergonomics i'd like it to have.
so i will build something new, just for my right hand ( i am a leftie ) which will give me the POWER to rule the pixels.

this project may take forever because i am a total noob in many ways. i don't know how to program, i've never spent time thinking about electronics, never did a pcb on my own... nothing except making my keyboard. but it's at least something. i know how to solder and i know my way around some of the parts needed. on top of that, i am doing my master thesis this semester and i work during the week. so i'm in for the long haul here.

about the project:

i plan to concept my own pcb as i want the layout and the position of the buttons to be exactly tailored to my right hand.  in fact i want to plan this as a 3D-like pcb with angled parts ( detached from the other pcbs i suppose ) and wrapped partly around my hand so i can not only push the buttons down but push them up and sideways as well. all of this i want to be sturdy after all so i want the lasercut steelplate and a proper case too. because of the 3D character of this keyboard/input device i'd like to incorporate LED's as well as a joystik for the thumb ( notice that the G13's joystick is for the left hand only ).

anyone thinks i bit off more than i can chew? let me know.
« Last Edit: Fri, 02 May 2014, 04:40:55 by Chemoletter »

Offline lowpoly

Re: Designing a custom right hand photoshop input tool