Author Topic: Questions about GMK keycaps vs others (PBT materials)  (Read 5818 times)

Offline Blehhh

Questions about GMK keycaps vs others (PBT materials)
« on: Tue, 26 May 2020, 04:38:39 »
Hi guys, i just started learning about custom made keyboards, and i want try to build my very first custom keyboard but im still confused about some Keycaps questions.
From what ive read GMK keycaps are the absolute best keycaps currently in the market.
1. What are the absolute best PBT material keycaps that can go against gmk keycaps?
2. PBT keycaps from Enjoypbt and infinitikey from what ive read they are one of the best in PBT keycaps similiar to gmk but GMK are Abs keycaps, are they still not as good as gmk?
3. Does everyone prefer gmk only? what about PBT materials keycaps from the absolute best company out there ( Sorry i dont know which are the best PBT keycaps makers, and would love if you could fill me in)
Thanks in advance and stay safe :)

Offline zslane

Re: Questions about GMK keycaps vs others (PBT materials)
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 26 May 2020, 11:56:13 »
GMK keycaps are definitely top of the line when it comes to cylindrical keycaps. But I hate cylindrical keycaps. So to me, just about any spherical keycap set, whether it is in ABS or PBT, is vastly superior to GMK (or any cylindrical set, for that matter).

If you are open to sphericals, then MT3 (from MassDrop) and SA-P (from Signature Plastics) are probably the top two contenders.

Offline Polymer

« Reply #2 on: Tue, 26 May 2020, 12:02:25 »
Hi guys, i just started learning about custom made keyboards, and i want try to build my very first custom keyboard but im still confused about some Keycaps questions.
From what ive read GMK keycaps are the absolute best keycaps currently in the market.
1. What are the absolute best PBT material keycaps that can go against gmk keycaps?