Author Topic: Hand Drawn Legends?  (Read 4382 times)

Offline frew

• blog
Hand Drawn Legends?
« on: Fri, 06 September 2013, 17:40:22 »
I have a set of blank keycaps and I was thinking it would be fun to hand write/draw the legends on to them.  If I do it I will label the fronts instead of the tops since it's unlikely that I can get something that will last unless I do some kind of etching.  I was thinking I could maybe use a paint pen but I'm not sure what is best for PBT.  I read through this thread: http://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=27976.msg531185 and was thinking I might be able to use the Gundam Pens or w/e they are called.  Just not sure about how they'll look with PBT.

Ideas?

Offline MTManiac

• can't is the cancer of happen
Re: Hand Drawn Legends?
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 06 September 2013, 17:56:46 »
your own stealth keys, I like it!
I have no experience with this, but I have faith in the community's knowledge
You will need to post pics of your build though!!!  :thumb:

Offline Findecanor

« Reply #2 on: Sat, 07 September 2013, 00:17:54 »
I suggest that you go to an arts and crafts store and ask for a pen with a mild alcohol-based type of ink.
Then, if you mess up, you would be able to wipe them clean with alcohol and start over.
If it is on the front, it should not wear.

Offline frew

• blog
« Reply #3 on: Sat, 07 September 2013, 13:44:46 »
I got a few pens today and tested each color (it was two sets, hence some of the odd colors) on some spare keycaps I have:

I'm surprised at how well it came out.  I can't be very delicate with the pens since the tips are fairly large, but I can distinguish the keys just fine.  Even the black is visible in a well let room.  I was surprised how well the gold and silver worked, the other colors are almost all multiple strokes, but the gold and silver are single strokes.

The only color I would def not do is purple, it's too dark and I may just not like purple  :)

This is my current setup