Author Topic: Wanting to do a school project over mechanical keyboards  (Read 3907 times)

Offline jjjbbap

Wanting to do a school project over mechanical keyboards
« on: Mon, 18 November 2019, 19:31:19 »
For English, we have to do a project where we can build or do whatever we choose for 50 hours and then document it. I have never built a keyboard before so I don't know if this is too eager.

I wanted to build a keyboard that would be able to be wired and wireless, all while having a raspberry pi in the bottom of it. Something similar to [this](https://www.instructables.com/id/Raspberry-Pi-Zero-Keyboard-Computer/) but with a custom keyboard and it could be hooked up to a separate computer as well and function like a normal keyboard. I figured that I could use the wireless capabilities of the raspberry pi to connect it to the keyboard and then used the wired for if I wanted to connect it to a normal computer. I have access to a bunch of different tools like cnc and 3d printers. Do you think that this would be unrealistic for someone to do?

Offline _rubik

• * Esteemed Elder
  • Typing on: Brutal60, Lavenders Linears, GMK Jamon
Re: Wanting to do a school project over mechanical keyboards
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 18 November 2019, 19:38:45 »
How much experience do you have with circuit design/soldering/CAD? Sounds like a pretty ambition school project. Wired/wireless + all-in-one/stand-alone is a tall order. Maybe some subset of those would be more realistic?
ai03 Meridian ¤ Mech 27 ¤ E8.5 ¤ Brutal60 ¤ SSK White Label ¤ HHKB Pro JP ¤ vAEK68 Alps Blues ¤ RF87u

Offline jjjbbap

« Reply #2 on: Mon, 18 November 2019, 19:41:09 »
I'm pretty proficient in CAD. I know that I can make/machine a case. Would I have to do a custom PCB
« Last Edit: Mon, 18 November 2019, 20:16:29 by jjjbbap »

Offline jjjbbap

« Reply #3 on: Mon, 18 November 2019, 19:43:13 »
How much experience do you have with circuit design/soldering/CAD?