Author Topic: First Time PCB Design Error Check - CFTKB Discipline With Numpad  (Read 4021 times)

Offline KeyBoulE

EDIT - updated github link to the current location.

Hey guys,
I am looking for some feedback and error checking on a PCB before i have some samples made. I'm new to KiCad and keyboard pcb designs so my confidence is pretty low and any feedback you have would be helpful. The basic goal was to add a numpad to the Discipline keyboard and I also removed the last column on the right side of the original discipline design since I think I'll be ok without it. Let me know if there is any other information that would be helpful from me.

Everything is in github here - https://github.com/ericrlau/NumDiscipline

This is the original project I started from in case you aren't familiar with it: https://github.com/coseyfannitutti/discipline/tree/master/ .
« Last Edit: Sat, 23 May 2020, 13:05:34 by KeyBoulE »

Offline gipetto

Re: First Time PCB Design - cftkb Discipline With Numpad
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 28 April 2020, 18:12:00 »
there's 3 drc errors in pcbnew referring to traces overlapping pads. you could shave down the number of vias by routing too but that doesn't matter. those lower cursors are going to increase the pcb cost substantially because its charged by how much area the smallest rectangle can be sized to fit the pcb inside. you could move them up flush with the rest of the bottom row.
I find right hand numpad to be an antiquated relic of the pre mouse era. A while back I also designed a discipline with numpad but I made it southpaw. https://www.reddit.com/r/MechanicalKeyboards/comments/ef38f0/modification_introducing_the_discipline_iso/
edit: I think you need an extra standoff hole on each bottom corner to avoid huge pcb flex.
« Last Edit: Tue, 28 April 2020, 18:18:52 by gipetto »

Offline KeyBoulE

Re: First Time PCB Design - cftkb Discipline With Numpad
« Reply #2 on: Tue, 28 April 2020, 19:34:39 »