Author Topic: New member and Mac fan  (Read 2381 times)

Offline mjcr

New member and Mac fan
« on: Mon, 11 September 2017, 19:02:56 »
Hi All,

Excited to find this site, as I'm just getting into mechanical keyboards off the back of typewriters and the Freewrite, which has a nice mechanical keyboard. Any advice for a UK Mac user?

Cheers!

M.

Offline Zobeid Zuma

Re: New member and Mac fan
« Reply #1 on: Thu, 14 September 2017, 11:21:31 »
I'm pretty new here too, so I don't have much to offer in the way of advice.  However. . .

I'm also a long time Mac user.  Lately I've been considering a move to Ubuntu -- at least for some things -- and I find I still prefer a Mac keyboard layout with Linux.  Typing right now on a Matias Mini Tactile Pro that I added O-rings to, and it's a very spiffy little keyboard.

Going forward, I think my focus is going to be on fully programmable boards with split space bars.  Banana Split 60, I hope!

Offline spycon69

« Reply #2 on: Thu, 14 September 2017, 12:00:49 »
New member here as well and mac user.  As a fan of mech keys I've been trying a while ago to find a decent mechanical for mac but unfortunately no luck yet...I am using  modified corsair strafe rgb with silent mx switches and the CQB driver which works ok

cheers :)

Offline raxander

« Reply #3 on: Thu, 14 September 2017, 21:28:44 »
Here's a list from the reddit /r/MK wiki: https://www.reddit.com/r/MechanicalKeyboards/wiki/appleosx_keyboards#wiki_mac_specific_mechanical_keyboards

Not sure which of those might be available in ISO layout.  I think the only difference between a mac-specific keyboard and a normal one is just that the keycaps are printed with "Command" and "Option" instead of "Control" and "Win".  So any ISO keyboard should work for a mac, but you could swap the keycaps or just remember that e.g. "Control"="Command".
 I'm not a Mac user, though, so not exactly sure.

Offline ErgoMacros

« Reply #4 on: Thu, 14 September 2017, 22:01:09 »