Author Topic: If you are looking to learn how to design a board, where do you start?  (Read 4198 times)

Offline granola bar enthusiast

Hey all!

For a long time now I have been brainstorming different designs for keyboards and I think I found it, although while I have 2 years of experience with photoshop I have no idea where to start. Does anyone have any recommendations or can help me out?

Offline controller-works

• Controller.works

Offline jetjagaa

• Giga-Robo
Bit of a dive in head first approach, but if you're like me and find the process starting in KiCad a little intimidating, or if you find the macropad tutorials leaving you with more questions, I'd recommend finding an open-source PCB design and going through the project to see how it works. I did that with the Arisu and it was it was really helpful.

EDIT: KiCad's libraries already have MX switches at the ready, so switch placement is extremely simple.
« Last Edit: Thu, 14 July 2022, 10:13:50 by jetjagaa »

Offline NebulousKeys

I have been teaching myself how to 3d design in fusion 360 and while it has not been a quick or clean process, I have found it very fun. If you are really passionate about it, I recommend taking a few measurements of a PCB you want to use and designing the case around that. You can also look at keyboards that you find interesting or relate to your design for inspiration. Also be sure, when designing the case, to write down every single measurement. Wall widths, filet, typing angle, and other stuff like that will be necessary for general consistency when working on a project that may take months. Those are just the main things I would have liked to be told when I started my design process.

Offline fohat.digs

• * Elevated Elder
  • weird funny old guy