Author Topic: [Idea] I want to run a keycap set, but I'm only a student  (Read 9653 times)

Offline chemba

• My Soundtest YT
[Idea] I want to run a keycap set, but I'm only a student
« on: Wed, 11 January 2023, 17:56:48 »
Hi everyone!
I joined geekhack super recently but have been in the hobby for a lil while now. I own a couple of group-buy sets and I have an idea of a set I'd be interested in designing, but after a lot of research and reading a lot of guides I kind of have info overload. I don't have an engineering background; in fact, I'm an 18-year-old high school senior. Here are some questions I have.

1) Around how much capital is needed to run one of these sets?
2) What is the order leading up to manufacturers and vendors? Is the order pre-IC/feedback, IC, contact vendors, then contact the manufacturer? None of the guides I've read have been clear about this. I've joined servers of some vendors + Milkyway, but I was too scared to ask them anything in light of sounding stupid. :(
3) Should I even attempt to use Blender with no experience or should I seek out the services of someone with design experience?
4) Are novelties usually made in Adobe Illustrator? Any good references/ guides for designing them?
5) I know Infinikey helps companies with the actual design of keycaps. Do they provide the same service for group buy sets?
6) Do you contact one vendor to be the head and they partner with other regional vendors, or do you contact them all yourself?
7) Am I getting in over my head given I am starting at basically 0?

Any info helps. Of course, this is just an idea I'm really excited about and I wanted to be very cautious before putting time and money into anything. Thank you for reading :)

Offline Fraaaan

Re: [Idea] I want to run a keycap set, but I'm only a student
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 15 January 2023, 05:27:00 »
I can't answer all questions in full detail because I've never designed a keyset myself but I hope I can point you in the right direction.