Author Topic: PCB Help  (Read 2573 times)

Offline MostProvolne

PCB Help
« on: Sun, 17 June 2018, 15:20:23 »
im new to the custom keyboard world but im looking to build my first keyboard. i wanna build a 65% kbd but i want a pcb thats capable of supporting underglow lighting but also rgb back lighting. i also liked the idea of hot swapping. but im not sure if thats even possible or if im putting too much on my plate for my first build. thanks in advance for any help or insight.

Offline user 18

• * Senior Moderator
Re: PCB Help
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 17 June 2018, 17:12:53 »
As far as I know, most PCBs can support hot-swapping, it's just a matter of soldering in the SIP sockets where you'd normally solder in the switches. Then, you can mount the switches in the sockets without soldering.

I don't know how many 65% PCBs are even out there that support RGB backlighting -- to my knowledge, that either requires surface-mount LEDs behind the switch, or substantial modification to allow four-lead through-hole LEDs to be used. That'll probably be the sticking point. Unfortunately, I don't know of any such boards off the top of my head.
Please PM me if you are waiting on classifieds approval or have a question about the classifieds rules. | geekhack Terms of Service

Max Nighthawk x8 (MX Brown) | CM QFR (MX Blue) | CM QFR (MX Clear) | RK-9000 (MX Red) | Model M 1391401 | Model M SSK 1370475 | CM Novatouch | G80-8113 (MX Clear) | 60% (85g MX Blue) | Whitefox Aria (MX Clear) | CL-LX (MX Clear) | Mira SE (MX Clear)

Offline Kevadu

« Reply #2 on: Sun, 17 June 2018, 18:04:12 »
The Massdrop Alt sounds like exactly what you want expect it's not available as a kit and it's not available at all yet.  You would have to wait for the next time it drops or get it secondhand from somebody once the first run is released.  But it has all the features you're looking for, even hot-swapping.