Author Topic: 42 Keys Ergodox Layout  (Read 21201 times)

Offline Zutatensuppe

42 Keys Ergodox Layout
« on: Fri, 19 August 2016, 18:08:14 »
Hi people,

it has been a while since I got my ergodox and I'm almost totally happy with it. :thumb:
One thing I observed after tuning key layout though is that I don't use 34 (almost half!!!) of the keys.
So I thought I'd share the layout that I'm currently using (I removed the ergodox keys that I don't use and adjusted size of keys in the screenshot/link):

http://www.keyboard-layout-editor.com/#/gists/95c43498ea1d1ab9c0d055f8b7b57a7c

First of all, the layout is based on workman layout and uses 3 layers basically (in code it is more, because of split layers between hands). I am a programmer so I don't only need letters, but all kind of braces and special chars as well. Because I didn't want to reach up to the numbers row, I set up a second layer for them. Then in the next step I thought I might as well make a layer for numbers and F keys too, so here we are now :)

1st row on the keys is Layer 1 (mostly letters, active by default)
2nd row is Layer 2 (mostly special chars needed for programming, active for left hand when holding n, active for right hand when holding t)
3rd row is Layer 3 (numbers/F-keys, active for left hand when holding i, active for right hand when holding a)

Shift is active when holding h or e
Alt is active when holding s or o

Sometimes I also need to write Umlauts (ä ö ü ß). I have no layer for them, but can easily write them with alt-codes (holding A and S and enter the numbers). If those letters are written often, another layer would be no problem I think (for example on holding U or R).
Often I need to use hotkeys in the IDE (Alt+Shift+Key, Alt+Ctrl+Key, Alt+Shift+Ctrl+Key), which are all easily accessible in the layout (maybe not visible on first sight, but once you get used to it it really is very convenient). There is almost no hand movement needed anymore.