Author Topic: Programmer looking for ergonomic keyboard - Concerned about shortcuts  (Read 6632 times)

Offline diegaus

I am a Dvorak typist currently looking to get an ergonomic mechanical keyboard. These days I type mostly on a Macbook Pro and a Filco Tenkeyless.

The options I'm considering include the Kinesis Advantage 2 and the Keyboardio Model 100 (to be released in 2021).

Being a programmer, I type a lot in Intellij and love my shortcuts. A summary of my most used keys/key combinations:

Arrow keys
Alt + arrow key
Alt + shift + arrow key
Cmd + arrow key
Cmd + shift + arrow key
Cmd + alpha character
Cmd + shift + alpha character
Cmd + shift + enter
Cmd + Alt + alpha character
Cmd + /
Alt + enter
Alt + F7
Shift + F6

My main concern is that I have never used a keyboard with thumb clusters (or layered) and I'm not sure how easy it would be to use my preferred key combinations with one of them. I tried searching for a video of someone coding with one of these keyboards, but found none.

I'd like to hear about your experience at typing in Intellij (or similar IDE) with either of these keyboards.  Are you happy with them, shortcut-wise?

If you thought these options were not well suited for using these kinds of shortcuts, would you mind recommending a better option?

Offline econeuler

Re: Programmer looking for ergonomic keyboard - Concerned about shortcuts
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 12 December 2020, 08:04:33 »
Hi,
I just felt compelled to reply to this and say the following (I'm biased, as you will see, towards 40% ergo keyboards):