Author Topic: 4 low profile keys...5-pin 0.1" pitch connector to external USB?  (Read 4845 times)

Offline sylcat

4 low profile keys...5-pin 0.1" pitch connector to external USB?
« on: Wed, 16 September 2015, 14:31:16 »
Hello!

I'm an artist who draws on modern day tablets (surface pros, etc) and I have a specific need.
If you've seen a Cintiq Companion by Wacom (or any number of drawing tablet options) you'll note they generally come with express keys on the side to make a lot of creative workflow actions easier, specifically Undo, Hold to pan, Flip Image, etc.

Many of us opt for tablets with a wacom digitizer inside that doesn't cost the wild prices of the Cintiq line, but in doing so the express keys are sacrificed.  For the longest time I've wanted a simple set of buttons mappable as keyboard strokes with a very low footprint to attach to the left side of my tablet (or the back since the sides have very little space to offer) which would connect via usb. I read a lot online and here and it seems just getting a 1 to 4 set of external buttons that doesn't cost $100 online isn't that readily available and especially if you want to avoid something as bulky as a regular keyboard key. I've seen several hacks here as well but they all involve some electrical and soldering skills currently beyond me and are again for the great part pertaining to standard size buttons.

I've come to ask you guys if what I'm considering is possible or a pipe dream.   

Effectively this: http://www.adafruit.com/products/1332?gclid=CKT-oOOc_McCFcE2aQod1isIpA

Combined with this: http://www.ebay.com/itm/USB-A-plug-to-internal-5-pin-header-adaptor-cable-male-or-female-/331638288252