Author Topic: NovaTouch Topre Slider Compatibility: A Discussion  (Read 5759 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online madhias

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 1181
  • Location: Wien, Austria
  • BS TORPE
    • Madhias' Flickr
NovaTouch Topre Slider Compatibility: A Discussion
« on: Wed, 04 February 2015, 16:41:07 »
MOD NOTE: Split from a WTB, here is a discussion on the compatibility of NovaTouch sliders with other Topre keyboards.

== == == == ==

You are aware that Novatouch sliders don't fit in any other Topre keyboard?

Are you sure about that? Tjcaustin and epzy have done the swap.

Show Image

Tj's HHKB.

I've read they don't fit properly with Realforce Keyboards?
« Last Edit: Thu, 05 February 2015, 10:18:40 by infiniti »
... ...

Offline exitfire401

  • * Global Moderator
  • Posts: 2966
  • Location: United States
  • The Force is Re/\l
Re: Re: [WTB]NovaTouch Topre Sliders
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 04 February 2015, 16:51:37 »
You are aware that Novatouch sliders don't fit in any other Topre keyboard?

Are you sure about that? Tjcaustin and epzy have done the swap.

Show Image

Tj's HHKB.

I've read they don't fit properly with Realforce Keyboards?

They fit...they're the same size...
Boards: Kingsaver Complicated Blue Alps |Sprit 60% Transparent MX Clears in Gateron housings with 62g gold Sprit springs lubed and RGB color shifting LEDs | Ducky Shine Zone MX Black with Blue LEDs | Realforce 10AE Variable Silenced

B/S/T thread: https://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=55351.0

Past projects: KBT Race 2 L.E.
Past Boards: Ducky Shine 2 | KBT Pure | LZ Aluminum Skin| HHKB | Realforce 23u |

Offline ideus

  • * Exalted Elder
  • Posts: 8061
  • Location: In the middle of nowhere.
  • Björkö.
Re: Re: [WTB]NovaTouch Topre Sliders
« Reply #2 on: Wed, 04 February 2015, 17:19:23 »
Make a GB !? Is that doable?, then the Topre users might enjoy MX freedom. Is this similar to the Matt3o sliders development?

Offline Phinominal

  • Posts: 14
Re: Re: [WTB]NovaTouch Topre Sliders
« Reply #3 on: Wed, 04 February 2015, 17:34:11 »
You are aware that Novatouch sliders don't fit in any other Topre keyboard?

What are you basing this off of?

I've swapped these sliders into my RF 87U and it works fine. The only problem I am aware of are the space bar stabilizer positions. They don't match up perfectly.

Every other key should work perfectly.

Offline Findecanor

  • Posts: 4878
  • Location: Koriko
Re: Re: [WTB]NovaTouch Topre Sliders
« Reply #4 on: Wed, 04 February 2015, 20:00:18 »
I think there was a review that said that Novatouch sliders were slightly wider than the sliders in the Realforce. Maybe I misinterpreted it...

Yes, the RF has a 6.0 units wide Space Bar and the Novatouch's is 6.25 wide.
Are the stabilised sliders really swappable, or do you mean swapping the entire key module?
« Last Edit: Wed, 04 February 2015, 20:09:55 by Findecanor »
Man must shape his tools lest they shape him
-- Arthur Miller

Offline tjcaustin

  • King Klaxon
  • * Maker
  • Posts: 3556
  • Location: Dallas-ish
  • King of All Klaxon Sciences and Cable Makery
    • Buy stuff
Re: Re: [WTB]NovaTouch Topre Sliders
« Reply #5 on: Wed, 04 February 2015, 20:02:49 »
There was a review that said that Novatouch sliders were slightly wider than the sliders in the Realforce. I'll go find it.

Yes, the RF has a 6.0 units wide Space Bar and the Novatouch's is 6.25 wide.

That's the only even kinda stag in the whole thing and that's only because it's difficult to find 6x cherry spacebars in the correct stabilizer configuration.  The sliders, stabilizer sliders and the little stabilizer pods swap with no problem in any plate mount topre board and only the 2 2x stabilizer sliders have issues with hhkb.

Offline intelli78

  • Posts: 1503
  • Location: Seattle
Re: Re: [WTB]NovaTouch Topre Sliders
« Reply #6 on: Wed, 04 February 2015, 20:20:35 »
What about the weird left Ctrl on 87u? Don't think a NT slider will fit there.
Please consider carefully before you decide to comment, for Jesus.

Offline Findecanor

  • Posts: 4878
  • Location: Koriko
Re: Re: [WTB]NovaTouch Topre Sliders
« Reply #7 on: Wed, 04 February 2015, 20:36:47 »
Hmm.. I measured the sliders in my Novatouch to 8.4 mm in diameter and the ones in my Realforce to 8.2 mm, and that means that they are different in outer diameter by 0.2 mm. Apparently that difference is not large enough to make them untransplantable. Maybe the author of the review I read just assumed or was referring to the stabilised keys.
Man must shape his tools lest they shape him
-- Arthur Miller

Offline FrostyToast

  • Litshoard
  • * Exquisite Elder
  • Posts: 2368
  • Location: Canada
Re: Re: [WTB]NovaTouch Topre Sliders
« Reply #8 on: Wed, 04 February 2015, 20:40:55 »
What about the weird left Ctrl on 87u? Don't think a NT slider will fit there.

What's weird about the left ctrl?
Quote from: elton5354
I don't need anymore keyboards

Offline intelli78

  • Posts: 1503
  • Location: Seattle
Re: Re: [WTB]NovaTouch Topre Sliders
« Reply #9 on: Wed, 04 February 2015, 20:42:08 »
Please consider carefully before you decide to comment, for Jesus.

Offline SpAmRaY

  • NOT a Moderator
  • * Certified Spammer
  • Posts: 14668
  • Location: ¯\(°_o)/¯
  • because reasons.......
Re: Re: [WTB]NovaTouch Topre Sliders
« Reply #10 on: Wed, 04 February 2015, 20:45:11 »
so has anyone done a full realforce slider swap or not??

Offline FrostyToast

  • Litshoard
  • * Exquisite Elder
  • Posts: 2368
  • Location: Canada
Re: Re: [WTB]NovaTouch Topre Sliders
« Reply #11 on: Wed, 04 February 2015, 23:32:45 »
https://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=63320.0

MX stems are still fully omni-directional. (if that is even a word)
This means that I can put a switch upright, 90 degrees, 180, even 270 degrees on a stem. Assuming that the MX stem on the novatouch has the same specifications, it doesn't matter if it gets put sideways.

So yes, I expect you can do a full novatouch conversion on an 87u without any hitches.
Quote from: elton5354
I don't need anymore keyboards

Offline intelli78

  • Posts: 1503
  • Location: Seattle
Re: Re: [WTB]NovaTouch Topre Sliders
« Reply #12 on: Wed, 04 February 2015, 23:34:20 »
But the slider is a considerably different shape, not just rotated...
Please consider carefully before you decide to comment, for Jesus.

Offline FrostyToast

  • Litshoard
  • * Exquisite Elder
  • Posts: 2368
  • Location: Canada
Re: Re: [WTB]NovaTouch Topre Sliders
« Reply #13 on: Wed, 04 February 2015, 23:36:59 »
But the slider is a considerably different shape, not just rotated...

Won't the slider still fit in the housing?
As long as it can do that, you're golden.
Quote from: elton5354
I don't need anymore keyboards

Offline intelli78

  • Posts: 1503
  • Location: Seattle
Re: Re: [WTB]NovaTouch Topre Sliders
« Reply #14 on: Wed, 04 February 2015, 23:45:08 »
I don't know if it will. Maybe. If it does, then you're right, the rotation won't matter for MX. At least one guy is claiming he's done it successfully, so let's see if he can post conclusive proof.
Please consider carefully before you decide to comment, for Jesus.

Online madhias

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 1181
  • Location: Wien, Austria
  • BS TORPE
    • Madhias' Flickr
Re: Re: [WTB]NovaTouch Topre Sliders
« Reply #15 on: Thu, 05 February 2015, 10:31:07 »
Thanks for splitting up the thread, mighty mod!

so has anyone done a full realforce slider swap or not??

That's what i am wondering. I am getting about 2Kg of Round 5 caps, different space bars and caps in almost all sizes, so well prepared for various cap swapping actions.
... ...