Author Topic: £220 ($340) budget, brand new to mechanicals.  (Read 2041 times)

Offline eltocliousus

£220 ($340) budget, brand new to mechanicals.
« on: Fri, 09 March 2012, 22:15:59 »
I recently made a thread when deciding between a KBC Poker and a Das, however my budget has more than doubled and I felt I was bordering new territory therefore a new thread seems valid.
I'm brand new to mechanicals, my current keyboard is a $10 wireless chiclet I've been using for 6 months and all the keys have worn out and I feel I deserve something nice to type on, however due to not knowing anything (Other than Filco = good, topre = expensive) I have no idea what I'm doing.

I'm not looking for anything specific, I prefer a small design (happy hacking) over the big chunky ones as I never use the numpad, I touch type using my own method (It's a strange method, but I do peak 130wpm) therefore blank keycaps are preferred for the aesthetic and shouldn't hinder my typing, I could probably adapt to an alternative layout.
Switches wise, I'm easy, I play my fair share of games of all types but none of them competitive or serious enough to warrant dedicated switches such as blacks/reds, originally I wanted a blue switch due to the sound but I believe my budget lands me in Topre territory if I was so inclined, but I have no clue on why Topre are so damn expensive and if they're worth it, and how they compare to the Blues (which seems to be most fun to type on coming from a non-experienced point of view).

Due to my budget I can just about grab Happy Hacking professional 2 but I have no idea if they're worth it for such a novice keyboard enthusiast such as myself, at the minute I'm still looking at the KBC Poker just because it's so damn cheap that I can get some luxury caps (if they fit, unsure on this) but I'm definitely willing to listen suggestions, especially regarding the Topres and the happy hacking boards.

Thankyou very much.

Offline eltocliousus