Author Topic: [IC?] Basic Fun HVC7: A Nintendo Tribute  (Read 9791 times)

Offline romevi

• Formerly romevi
  • * Exalted Elder
[IC?] Basic Fun HVC7: A Nintendo Tribute
« on: Wed, 15 July 2015, 00:39:18 »
02/24/16 update: https://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=73591.msg2070928#msg2070928

Original post:

Hi everyone.

I'm very much new to the keyboard community, though I've used a Unicomp since 2009. I don't own any Cherry boards, but I'm always lusting after all the cap designs I've seen on here and now I'm pretty set to buy my own soon.

Although I'm new to keyboards, I've had other lifetime hobbies. Video gaming is one of them. So, with recent events, I've decided to try my hand at making a very crude draft.

Story:
I grew up a Sony kid, having primarily PlayStations and Sega consoles in the '90s and '00s. I've always coveted my cousins' SNESes and N64s, but never got around to acquiring my own Nintendo console until I finally bought a Wii and downloaded tons of Virtual Console titles. After that Nintendo quickly became one of my favorite gaming companies, and many of those retro titles became some of my all-time favorite games.

Following that experience, I've become a retro enthusiast over the years and have joyfully hunted down old consoles to give them a new home.
Thus the inspiration for my first keyset design: Basic Fun HVC7.

105527-0

If you don't know, it's based off Famicom's BASIC keyboard. I've never owned or fiddled with the keyboard or the BASIC family, but I've always loved the color scheme of the Famicom.

I've tried to stick to the exact color scheme of the keyboard, though I've updated some of the alphanumerics to give them more functional capabilities for today's usage. I think I've got the red down, though I'd like to lighten the gray a bit. I'm still working on replicating the typeface.

105529-1

http://www.keyboard-layout-editor.com/#/layouts/f9e061a8abe23e8dc7be1c139af45b17