Author Topic: Help Picking a Microcontroller  (Read 9724 times)

Offline Adlaiunm

Help Picking a Microcontroller
« on: Mon, 25 July 2016, 20:52:03 »
Hello everyone!

I'm new to geekhack and DIY keyboards in general, and I don't have a lot of knowledge about the parts typically used. Right now, I'm working on designing a really simple 2 key keyboard for osu!. It seems like it would be extremely easy to do with a Teensy or a Pro Micro, both of which are very cost effective. Considering a Teensy can support a matrix for an entire keyboard, using one for a mere 2 keys seems like a waste. Is there a microcontroller better suited for small projects? How about the cheapest one on the market that can be used to make a HID?

I apologize if this seems kind of vague. I don't really know what specific information I need to provide.

Anyways, thank you very much for your help! As soon as I have all of my parts picked out, I will take some pictures of the build process and maybe even make a tutorial.

Offline QuincyJones

Re: Help Picking a Microcontroller
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 26 July 2016, 01:46:49 »
what's osu?
SENT FROM MY TRKA-100-ULTRA-PRO-1R WITH FLASHY MULTI-COLOURED LEDS FOR MEGA ULTRA COOLNESS
(please like me)

Offline suicidal_orange

• * Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: Tue, 26 July 2016, 02:30:09 »
what's osu?

Cheap often means a Chinese clone, not necessarily a good idea.

An attiny85 can be used as an HID device using v-usb, Adafruit's Trinket is readily available and only $7 and there's a tutorial here - cheap and easy enough for a first project? :)
120/100g linear Zealio R1  
GMK Hyperfuse
'Split everything' perfection  
MX Clear
SA Hack'd by Geeks     
EasyAVR mod

Offline kawasaki161

« Reply #3 on: Tue, 26 July 2016, 06:18:11 »
How professionally do you want to make it look?