Author Topic: Self-introduction: TLDR - Learning Colemak-DHm, split ortho, QMK, KMonad + WTB!  (Read 2184 times)

Offline OwariDa

• ClevCode
Hello!

My journey started with self-taught qwerty on traditional row-staggered keyboards (originally the C64 :D), and I was pretty happy with that until about 3 years ago when I started feeling some occasional wrist pain. I had already been using decent mechanical keyboards for a while (my favorite at the time was a custom WASD V2 88-Key with black/blank keycaps and MX Blue switches), but at this point I started looking into more ergonomical options, mainly various split orthogonal keyboards, including Ergodox, KeyboardIO M01 and the Kinesis Advantage 2.

My qwerty speed was around 100 wpm at the time, even though most of my typing was done with 4 fingers with my self-taught technique. I decided that I wanted to learn a more ergonomical layout as well though, and chose Colemak-DHm after some period of research into this.

To avoid confusing my muscle memory I decided that I would only use Colemak-DHm on orthogonal split keyboards and only qwerty on traditional row-staggered ones, and this has worked great. So far, I have zero muscle memory confusion and automatically use qwerty on row-staggered keebs while using colemak-dhm on ortho split ones.

I think it probably helped that I've never done "traditional touch-typing", so I really had to re-train all my muscle memory to use ortho split keebs anyway. Doing it with qwerty would still likely have been a bit faster, but I really like how much time is spent on the homerow with colemak and think that from an ergonomical standpoint it's the right choice.