Author Topic: ErgoDox EZ  (Read 2498 times)

Offline ala

ErgoDox EZ
« on: Sat, 16 February 2019, 16:25:13 »
I have been using the keyboard for about 3 years. It's not perfect but I don't know anything better so I ended having 2 units, one at work, the other at home.

General about ErgoDox
Pros:
- Programability! Finally I have a hardware Colemak keyboard compatible with computers configured to US layout. Of course I like the opportunity to have a little more customization than the letters layout.
- Grid keys arrangement. Cannot recommend it more! On traditional keyboard the left hand side is completely screwed causing strain and touch-typing errors.
- Left/right halves separation
- thumb keys

Cons:
- Too few keys. I would really appreciate having an additional row of 4 keys on left and right side. The 1.5u keys are not necessary, I would appreciate two rows of 1u keys instead.
- Lack of function keys row. I would like to have them too.
- Necessity to use key combinations (switching layout layers, etc) due to the lack of sufficient number of keys.
- Thumb islands are over-engineered. Only the two big keys are usable, the 1u keys are impossible to use by thumbs and awkward to use otherwise, definitely not usable for touch-typing
- The bottom row could be more pronounced by using bigger keys.

ErgoDox EZ specific
Pros:
- Build quality.

Cons:
- Tilt kit is unusable. It has only 3 legs! You can tilt only in one direction, very disappointing if it does not suit you.
- Wrist rest kit does not attach to the keyboard. It's just 2 pieces of rubber that move freely on your desk. Plus if you opt to use the provided tilt kit, the rubber is to high, using thumb keys becomes awkward.