Author Topic: Idea: software developers keyboard.  (Read 13783 times)

Offline flux-yz

Idea: software developers keyboard.
« on: Sun, 29 September 2019, 17:04:35 »
Hey all.
I'm a programmer, developing cross ides, cross operation systems and I had this idea of self adapting keyboard.
I wanted to create a 4x4 macro keyboard with custom firmware and a program that will self adapt according to my working window.
There are so many shortcuts for the same functionality in each ide and I thought I could unify all of those shortcuts to a single button that for example will hold something like jump to next breakpoint.
While I'm switching windows the program will make my keyboard change the layout.

What do you think of this idea? Where would you use it? What shortcuts would you like to have?
It might work for other places but programming.
Thank you all!

Sent from my GM1910 using Tapatalk

Offline Steezus

• Keeper of Facts
  • * Elevated Elder
Re: Idea: software developers keyboard.
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 29 September 2019, 17:29:47 »
Most IDEs I've used have the capability of changing shortcuts. Couldn't you just change similar IDE shortcuts to the same key? As long as you are not limited by the IDEs functionalities then that seems to be the easier approach.
TGR-Jane CE | TGR-Tris CE | Lyn Montage | LZ PhysiX | Exclusive e8.5

Offline flux-yz

« Reply #2 on: Mon, 30 September 2019, 02:20:21 »
Most IDEs I've used have the capability of changing shortcuts. Couldn't you just change similar IDE shortcuts to the same key? As long as you are not limited by the IDEs functionalities then that seems to be the easier approach.
It's a good point, but it has its downsides.
A. It is a lot of effort.
B. It's not always possible, for example on Mac, there are some shortcuts that are used by the os, so you cannot override them, And if you will find a way you will lose the comfort of using them on your os.