Author Topic: DIY Wooden uTron-like  (Read 3093 times)

Offline Galvo

DIY Wooden uTron-like
« on: Sun, 21 February 2016, 15:27:47 »
Hi everybody!
My name is Luca and I'm a developer from Italy.
I just entered the wonderful world of mechanical keyboards, coming from a Logitech K760.

I spent some time reading about different layouts, switches etc... and I decided to go with the ergo split route.
I prototyped some of the models (Ergodox, Keyboardio...) and I came to the conclusion that the only model that catches my attention is the japanese uTron.
I have quite small hands, and I still have to learn to touch type.
I don't know if I'll go with Qwerty or if I'll jump to Programmer Dvorak...
I use Osx everyday at work and at home, so I have a question for all the uTron owners out there...
What's the best way to adapt the uTron key mappings to a Mac environment?
As you can see in the attached image, the uTorn has keys for switching between Katakana/Hiragana, but these are needed only for Japanese people...

I already bought a Teensy, for the wood section I'm gonna choose something from Italian Walnut, Beech, Maple. Maybe I'll go with a contrasting color scheme, haven't decided yet...
I like clicky mechanical switches so I was going with MX Blues, but I work with other people at the office, so I ordered Matias Quiet Click Tactile switches.
Keycaps will be hand carved from solid wood.

Offline kurplop

• THE HERO WE DON'T DESERVE
Re: DIY Wooden uTron-like
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 22 February 2016, 04:54:36 »
Sounds like a good project. I'll be keeping an eye on your progress. Hand carving undersized wood caps may be a challenge using MX switches, given the inherent weakness of wood and the thin walls necessary for clearances.

Best wishes and welcome to GH.

Offline Galvo

« Reply #2 on: Mon, 22 February 2016, 05:01:26 »