Author Topic: Stabs Expensive?  (Read 3249 times)

Offline kisstheringz

Stabs Expensive?
« on: Wed, 15 December 2021, 12:48:06 »
Why are stabs so expensive?  I use Durock V2s in most of my boards and have paid anywhere between $19-$25 USD for them.  They are just a few plastic housings and some wires, I don't get why they are so expensive.  Mind you I am pretty new to this hobby, so maybe I am missing something.

Offline MIGHTY CHICKEN

• buck buck, cluck cluck, squawk squawk
Re: Stabs Expensive?
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 15 December 2021, 15:10:39 »
The hobby is still pretty niche and moqs are low, they cost around like 5 7 bucks a set to make, but vendors gotta make money somehow.

Alternatively, you can use cherry clip ins which work just as well as any stab with the exception of maybe TX and Staebies for much cheaper. They cost under a dollar a piece and can go down to as low as 15cents per stab if you get straight from mouser, assuming vendors don't buy out all the stock to resell.

Offline Riverman

« Reply #2 on: Wed, 15 December 2021, 16:15:04 »
I was pretty surprised when I saw how cheap genuine Cherry stabilizers are from electronics suppliers.  The trick is knowing what part number corresponds to what wire length, and so far I haven't been able to figure that out.  Even still, if you just want the stabilizers themselves, it doesn't matter what you buy.

Offline MIGHTY CHICKEN

• buck buck, cluck cluck, squawk squawk
« Reply #3 on: Wed, 15 December 2021, 16:20:03 »
G99-0742 for clip in 2Us, there's also other models for 3u and platemount, but ehh
for the clip ins you want to preorder them before hand as vendors buy them up quick
I usually then get long wires either from 3dkeebs or from Doyu studios
now I have enough stabs to go through like 40 boards

Offline HungerMechanic

« Reply #4 on: Thu, 16 December 2021, 20:27:32 »