geekhack Community > Keyboards

Looking for a low profile tactile switch

(1/2) > >>

zmaster:
Hello everyone,

I'm new to the hobby. A few months ago I bought a mechanical keyboard and replaced the switches with Boba U4T. I liked the tactility a lot, but I prefer a shorter travel. So, I'm looking for a "low profile" keyboard/switch. Unfortunately, there's much less choice compared to regular ones.

I bought a Nuphy Air75 and I wasn't satisfied with its Gateron browns.
I've been keeping an eye on the recently launched Logitech MX Mechanical, because I'd prefer a 100% ISO and it's a rarity. It comes with Kailh Choc V2 Browns for the tactile variant.
RTings just published their test results. Here's the comparison with the Air75:
https://www.rtings.com/keyboard/1-0/graph#33681/6685/31351

If I read the graph correctly, the Kailh is even less tactile than the Gateron. There's a drop of just 5gf compared to the 15gf of the Gateron.
Is my impression correct?

Any advice on alternatives is appreciated. I've seen the Banana/Mint switches from Keychron but I have not found any chart to compare them.

Findecanor:
Welcome to Geekhack!

Are you sure you mean "key travel"? That is how deep you can press a key, in total.

I believe the Boba U4T has slightly less key travel than the norm. You could try installing O-rings under the keycaps on the keyboard with Boba U4T and see if that makes any difference, and if you like it. Bottoming out would be much softer though.

Very broadly speaking, there are three main classes of "tactile" mechanical switches:
* Highly tactile, early bump: Boba U4T, Zealio V2, Holy Panda, ...
* Highly tactile, more rounded bump: Durock T1, Cherry MX Clear (scratchy and heavy), Zealio V1 (rare these days), ...
* Slightly tactile, tiny short bump: All "Brown" switches.

Brown switches are sometimes called "scratchy linear" by people who don't think they are tactile enough.. so you are not alone there. ;)

Bozs: