Author Topic: Yet another first mechanical thread!  (Read 2029 times)

Offline Razzeus

Yet another first mechanical thread!
« on: Mon, 28 February 2011, 15:21:19 »
Greetings GeekHack forums!

I stumbled onto this site while googling mechanical keyboard guides and was overwhelmed with guides for nearly everything. Now I'm hoping to get some opinions and suggestions based on what I have to say below.

I've been researching mechanical keyboards and am looking to get one, I've read through numerous guides on this site as well as others, and have a general idea of what I want but would like to get some input. Especially since I have never used one before.

I'm a heavy gamer and have been playing on the PC since around 1998. I mainly play FPS's such as cs1.6, TF2, BF:BC2 etc... however I'm trying to get into SC2. The majority of my PC "career" to the best of my knowledge, has consisted of rubber domes. My first desktops keyboard was definitely domes and my current board is the same (logitech g11).

From what I've gathered from the various guides I've read. Black is the best for gaming however they lack in the typing department. Also I feel like I would enjoy a lighter switch than what the blacks are described to be. Blues seem to be for typists and not so much gamers. Reds seem to be lighter blacks which sound promising but apparently they're difficult to acquire in the USA. Brown seems to be the general recommendation for a good gaming/typing middle ground so I figure I'll try that first.