Author Topic: Missing Numpad  (Read 1799 times)

Offline 2ndRoad805

Missing Numpad
« on: Fri, 09 November 2018, 15:30:02 »
Hi all, I am new to the addiction and I have a question regarding keyboard layout. I noticed that the most common options for layouts are full size, TKL, and 60%. While I am waiting for My Pok3r in the mail... I am wanting to plan a board that includes the numpad but I don’t really regularly use the page up/down area set nor the “F” keys. I’m capable of soldering the switches but programming is a little intimidating and I don’t want to bite off more than I can chew.

Are there any boards with 60% + just the numpad? I don’t really want the numpad in the middle of the board like I’ve seen, although it may be a project down the road (still curious about the ergonomics of that design).

Should I just have a separate numpad altogether? Something off to the side I would only bring out for calculating. All suggestions are welcome, but please keep in mind I am a beginner. I would really like to see an example for the board with 60% + numpad that I could possibly follow.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline BlindAssassin111

• I design keyboards and stuff.
    • Viktus
Re: Missing Numpad
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 09 November 2018, 15:34:12 »
Something like this may be what you are looking for(still has the function row but compact) https://kono.store/products/kira-mechanical-keyboard. This layout is called a 96 key.

Otherwise you will be looking at customs, a couple that are coming up that I designed are the TKC M011Y and the TKC CandyBar, both of which are similar to what you listed, but different still. Just suggestions if the 96 key layout isn't what you would want.

Offline ErgoMacros

« Reply #2 on: Fri, 09 November 2018, 16:11:55 »
You might try googling (images) for:
  96% 2018 site:geekhack.org
or
  numpad 2018 site:geekhack.org

and see if there's anything there of interest. There's been a few with the numpad on the left, recently.