Author Topic: Has anyone made a keyboard based on mouse-style microswitches?  (Read 2947 times)

Offline Torious

Has anyone made a keyboard based on mouse-style microswitches?
« on: Tue, 25 December 2012, 08:13:41 »
(hopefully this is the right section, I'm new here)

I'm curious if anyone here has built a keyboard using microswitches of the type usually used in mice?

One such project I found is http://mykeyboard.co.uk/microswitch/ , which uses very low-force switches, which sounds appealing to me. The Data Hand uses very low activation force as well, so maybe it'll be more ergonomic.

Or would the different type of switch be not ergonomic for other reasons? (like instantly "bottoming out" perhaps? I'm a newbie in this area).

Thanks!

Offline Solodos

Re: Has anyone made a keyboard based on mouse-style microswitches?
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 12 January 2013, 07:55:15 »
I don't. But has anyone made a mouse based on keyboard style switch?

Offline mikekuehn

• mikekuehn.ca
« Reply #2 on: Sat, 12 January 2013, 09:11:56 »
tried that... i have 100 ibm scrollpoint mice i bought for hacking with. (for the trackpoints mainly)

the click down, click up of the mouse switches gets annoying fast for typing...
I work for Keyboardio and post code on GitHub

Offline jeroplane

« Reply #3 on: Sat, 12 January 2013, 09:30:31 »
Typing on mouse switches would be really bad for your fingers. Basically like bashing your fingertips on a solid surface due to the tiny travel distance. Would possibly harm the nerves, etc.

My signature hasn't changed since 2012. I should really update it.

Offline llovro

« Reply #4 on: Sat, 12 January 2013, 10:06:31 »
I don't. But has anyone made a mouse based on keyboard style switch?
There's leetgion hellion mouse which has cherry mx blue side button
http://www.leetgion.com/products.php

Offline IvanIvanovich

• Mr. Silk Underwear
« Reply #5 on: Sat, 12 January 2013, 11:37:22 »