Author Topic: 24-pin microcontroller for handwired build?  (Read 5791 times)

Offline nalf

24-pin microcontroller for handwired build?
« on: Wed, 09 October 2019, 13:51:32 »
I am partway through a handwired build with 73 keys and i've wired the 16 columns and 5 rows. I also have 3 indicator LEDs. I have a pro micro but it doesn't have enough pins to accomodate the LEDs even if i chop up the wiring and make it a 9x9 matrix. Is there a controller that has 24 usable i/o pins? I have very little coding knowledge so I was hoping to use a controller that has some firmware already written i could use, like the pro micro. I was looking at the stm32 blue pill board, but I don't know enough about controllers to know if it will work.

Thanks for your help GH :)

Offline piit79

Re: 24-pin microcontroller for handwired build?
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 09 October 2019, 13:58:41 »
I'm probably missing something, but 9 + 9 + 3 = 21 I/O pins?

That said, QMK Proton C Rev2 has 24 I/O pins: https://qmk.fm/proton-c/ and is now back in stock at keeb.io, 1Up etc. As the name suggests, it's supported by QMK ;)

Offline AuthenticDanger

« Reply #2 on: Wed, 09 October 2019, 14:03:18 »
Absolute worst case, you can drop some columns and be creative with your rows to fit all the keys in. The "matrix" approach is great for visualization, but depending on your board's needs, isn't required.

I have a handwired 17col x 5row and I remember getting creative when I was wiring it up. You just have to translate your solution to your QMK config, but once it's setup, you'll likely never look at it again.
F Keys belong on the left.

Offline nalf

« Reply #3 on: Wed, 09 October 2019, 14:50:54 »