geekhack Projects > Making Stuff Together!

Adapt old "Liberty"-keyboard to PS2 or USB?

(1/1)

Masterchief79:
Hey guys,
I'm new to geekhack, so let me introduce myself: My name is Niklas, I'm 19 and coming from Germany.
A few days ago a friend of mine bought a Black Widow and told me about the whole mechanical-keyboard-thing (had no idea something like that existed till then). So, as you can't set a foot in this house without stepping on a CPU, a GFX card or a mainboard, I started to look around for old mech keyboards and I found one made by "Liberty" (no additional info there), hooked up to a "Liberty"-terminal (also no model number or something like that). Should be at least 15 years old, but the nice thing is: The keyboard already uses Cherry MX Black switches :)

So, first here are some pics (unfortunately, one keycap is missing):

So, my goal is to hook it up to my desktop PC (PS2 or USB, didn't decide yet). It's gonna be a project :)
The interface gives me a headache, I've never seen something like this. In the last picture, you can see the usage of the pins, for example the keyboard gets a straight +12V input instead of +5V or +3,3V as usual, although I believe you should be able to adapt that with appropriate voltage regulators. But I think it gets funny at the signal and data transfer-part, because I don't see any correlations to a USB interface. So, it's very probable I have to develop an own PCB with the voltage regulators and a microprocessor which I can program by myself to translate the keyboard signal into a USB-compliant one for instance - at least if I can't find another solution, maybe the signal is closer to USB or PS2 than I think.

I tested the keyboard on the terminal already, works awesomely. By the way, it would be also an advantage if I was able to change the programming of the keys themselves, because the layout is really something you have to get used to ;)

This is what I found on deskthority:

--- Quote ---WTF is that thing!!!