Author Topic: hi everyone!  (Read 1679 times)

Offline blackhawkpanda

hi everyone!
« on: Fri, 28 April 2017, 02:14:52 »
Hi everyone,

I am fairly new to the mechanical keyboards community.

I am software engineer, but I love video games, been online gaming for close to 20 years now.

I bought my first mechanical keyboard a few years ago ~2014. It was a Logitech G710+ with Cherry MX Browns.
I loved it and really enjoyed clacking away.

However, I got married last year and my wife did not appreciate me clacking away in the bedroom while she was trying to sleep.

So in October 2016, did some quick researching and saw that MX Reds were the quietest among the "available" keyboards. So for my birthday, I got a CM MasterKeys Pro S with MX Reds, and immediately put O-rings in them after I read this thread: https://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=40227.0

I met up with a buddy from work who is a member of this community, and he showed me a new world.

I started lurking reddit in January 2017...
bought a Pok3r RGB with MX Browns beginning of April 2017 http://imgur.com/msOFqdK...
wanted to research more and created an account here...
bought a couple artisans (probably last artisans I will buy, I bought these because I am a big Star Wars fan) mid April http://imgur.com/a/x35en...
bought my first "custom" keyboard (b.mini EX X2) from another reddit user last week (came in mail today)...
bought my first keyset earlier this week, and now I am looking at Group Buys to build my first kit.

I didn't expect that my interest would escalate so quickly. My friends think it's insane that I've spent over $100 on a keyboard(s).

Bottom line is: this all makes me happy :)

« Last Edit: Fri, 28 April 2017, 02:47:42 by blackhawkpanda »

Offline sek1ne

• Sek-eye-n
Re: hi everyone!
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 28 April 2017, 02:22:02 »