Author Topic: A good keyboard for huge use of key combinations  (Read 6422 times)

Offline rebus

A good keyboard for huge use of key combinations
« on: Sat, 05 April 2014, 05:36:57 »
Hello
I have been suffering RSI (pain in my wrists) for about three months now, and I noticed the thing that I suffer the most is pressing combination of 2, 3 or even 4 keys (like Ctrl+Alt+Shift+V). I am a tech writer and layout designer and I use them a lot. So, I was searching for a good ergonomic keyboard with those keys in a  convenient position to avoid stress. I love the TypeMatrix concept, but those keys (ctrl - alt - shift) are not really symmetric and differently sized, and that might be perhaps confusing. So maybe the TECK, where those keys are all near together? Wow, that's an expensive keyboard for my budget, but if that's the solution I might be considering it. I am also willing to learn Colemak, but I believe that, even it will be an improvement, it would not really fix my issue with key combinations. Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance  :)

Offline SonOfSonOfSpock

Re: A good keyboard for huge use of key combinations
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 05 April 2014, 12:24:04 »
Maybe look for something that has macro capabilities so you can avoid those key combos. Some boards have it built-in. I think Autohotkey can do macros as well.
« Last Edit: Sat, 05 April 2014, 20:13:09 by SonOfSonOfSpock »

Offline EvillePanda

« Reply #2 on: Sat, 05 April 2014, 13:43:20 »
I have a TECK and it's a very comfortable keyboard to use.  I have very little finger travel (and small hands).  The firmware is completely programmable so if you need to create a special keyboard layout just for you, it's an option.  The keyboard is also fairly heavy and very solid.
Visit the Typing Test and try!

Offline Lanx

« Reply #3 on: Sun, 06 April 2014, 08:42:25 »
buy a gamepad that you can macro all those ****ty combinations, i mean wtf!