Author Topic: Advice for first mech. keyboard  (Read 6194 times)

Offline AllNight

Advice for first mech. keyboard
« on: Sat, 19 March 2011, 11:37:08 »
Dear forum,

After lurking for a while on this board I decided to register and participate.
I typed on an old model M at a friend's place (he didn't even know that it was such a famous and good keyboard) and I loved the mechanical feel. Now I decided that I want to invest in a mechanical keyboard after punishing myself with scissor switches and rubber domes for 17 years.
Ofcourse I did some research and I hope you guys can help me with my first buy.

I'm a student on the university and type alot of essays and papers on my pc. The keyboard and the HDD are the last low-end pieces in my mid to high end PC. I also play games when I have time and at the moment alot of Starcraft 2. Those are the primary uses of the keyboard. Now I did some research and it seems that the Cherry MX Brown switches are the best hybrid for gaming and typing, and alot of RTS players seem to recommend them.

I live in Holland and i can get a Filco Majestouch for 150 euro in Belgium (live close to the border).
I can also get a Zowie Celeritas for 110 euro.
I think I can also get a Razer blackwidow or a Steelseries 6gv2 somewhere but ofcourse they have other switch types.

Now I'm wondering what would be the best choice for me and maybe someone has another option for me. I prefer not importing and prefer to buy from a web-shop close to my city but if things are legit, importing is an option. Does anyone have advice for me?

Thanks in advance!

Offline Shuki

« Reply #1 on: Sat, 19 March 2011, 12:29:59 »
I think Cherry brown or cherry red switches would probably be the best choices. Both are ~45g however the cherry brown has a tactile bump (which is quite subtle) at the actuation point whereas the cherry red does not. The cherry red provides an analogue feel which progressively increases in resistance as you get closer to bottoming out.