Author Topic: Will Win7 accept Win2000's keyboard drivers?  (Read 1471 times)

Offline BucklingSpring

Will Win7 accept Win2000's keyboard drivers?
« on: Fri, 22 April 2011, 11:19:59 »
The short story is in the subject.

I learned to type in French in the 80's when to do a >è< you had to hit >'< first, then >e<
same for >à<. But é was assigned to a single key >/<.

This French driver was carried over until Windows 2000. MS changed it in XP while keeping the same driver filename. Since XP >à<, >è< and few others are assigned to a single key.

I was able to overwrite XP's by 2000's and get the legacy layout to work properly.

My new work laptop will come with Windows 7 and I was wondering if I'm going to be able to import the same old keyboard drivers in it.

I'm no AutoHotkey programmer but I guess I'll have to learn how to convert a sequence of keys to produce a single one. Ie creating a "longcut".

Otherwise do you know a Windows 7 application able to make custom Keyboard drivers?

Thanks.
In memory of smallfry 1996-2013
Boards I own, click ->
More
Ducky x2 (9008G2 Pro PBT/MX Green and Mini MX Red), Matias x2 (QP and Mini QP Dampened ALPS), Topre RealForce x4 (87U 55g/Digilog case, 103U-UW & 104UG High-Profile x2), Filco Majestouch x2 (TKL MX Blue & V2 AI 104 MX Blue), IBM-M x2 (BS & RD), Unicomp-M x5 (BS black on black x2, BS Ivory x2, QT Ultra-Classic), Deck x4 (Legend MX Black & MX Clear, Hassium & Francium w/ MX Brown), DAS III (MX Blue), KBT Pure Pro 60% (MX Red), NMB-RT8256CW+ x2 (black space invader), XArmor U9BL-S (MX Brown) given for free to someone I hate, CM X2 (Trigger/MX Green + Storm TKL/NovaTouch), TVS GOLD (MX Blue) and a many many more (NMB, DELL, MS, ATT, KeyTronic, Etc...)

Offline IanS

« Reply #1 on: Fri, 22 April 2011, 12:12:16 »
Do you know about the US-international keyboard layout? It sounds similar to what you're used to:
Code: [Select]
Press this key Then press this key Resulting character