Author Topic: Ducky DK9087G2 Pro: Help Me Choose!  (Read 12154 times)

Offline cluny

Ducky DK9087G2 Pro: Help Me Choose!
« on: Wed, 31 October 2012, 21:41:24 »
Hey I'm new to GH and somewhat new to mechs.
     I'm shopping for a keyboard and I'm dead-set on making a purchase by tomorrow. My first choice was the new Leo fc700r but since I live in the states, it's proven too difficult to get my hands on one. I'm an FPS/RTS gamer and a bit of a blogger/tech writer so I already have an opinion about which features I'd like to see in my "daily driver" keyboard. Cherry MX Reds and preferably removable USB cable, Costar stabilizers, blank PBT caps. Not to say that I'm terribly picky; I know I'm not going to get the perfect keyboard.
     I've narrowed it down to 3 options, and detailed my worries about each below:

a. Ducky DK9087G2 PRO(http://mechanicalkeyboards.com/shop/index.php?l=product_detail&p=190) I can't find much info on this particular model, but some of the new features I've noticed make me hopeful e.g. It looks like they changed the USB cable routing channels to be less damaging to the cable. Afaik, this is the first Ducky to sport PBT caps which is a BIG plus for me. Unfortunately I've heard talk of older ducky models that they just can't compete with Filco build quality. My chief worry about this board is that I can't tell what type of stabilizers it has. I tend to prefer the sound of a costar space bar. I'm also sort of enamored with the whole two-tone vibe the linked model above has going on.

b. Filco Majestouch 2 tkl(http://www.amazon.com/Filco-Majestouch-2-Tenkeyless-FKBN87MRL-EW2/dp/B0081FAFYC/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1351736053&sr=8-2&keywords=filco+majestouch+2+tenkeyless) No features whatsoever!? It sounds amazing as a typist board and I don't like superfluous features like backlighting, but this thing doesn't even have a removable USB. Also, I can't seem to find it with my preferred combination of Cherry Reds, TKL, and blank caps(or "ninja").