Author Topic: Total noob QMK/configurator question (Dactyl Manuform)  (Read 3954 times)

Offline jamster

Total noob QMK/configurator question (Dactyl Manuform)
« on: Mon, 16 August 2021, 06:50:44 »

[Preface: I have zero experience with QMK or the online configurator, just fired it up to have a look around.]

So I'm shortly going to undertake building a Dactyl Manuform (DM) in the largest 5x7 layout. First DIY build, previously I'm using modded TKLs or a Dumang DK6 split board.

Using the very handy 3D generator at https://dactyl.siskam.link/manuform, I see that there's also an option to include an extra inner column of 3 keys, which is similar to the Ergodox layout. I figure this is handy for extra function keys, trials of various layouts with the Dumang have established that I prefer more keys than less.

Thing is, how does this layout work with the online QMK configurator? This layout brings the number of columns on each hand to 8 instead of 7, which does not fit any of the pre-fabricated Dactyl layouts (which go up to 5x7). Is it possible to shoehorn this into an existing layout, or does it require bypassing the online configurator and creating something entirely from scratch?

Offline suicidal_orange

• * Global Moderator
Re: Total noob QMK/configurator question (Dactyl Manuform)
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 20 August 2021, 04:14:06 »
I'm looking at this and getting rather confused - the 5x7 firmware effectively has 6x7 pins in the matrix but only has 37 of the possible 42 keys defined in each half.

You could configure all the keys you can see in the configurator then download the "FULL SOURCE" which hopefully includes your mapping (it's greyed out for me so can't check...) and add a couple of extra keys rather than starting from scratch or doing all the editing in text files.
120/100g linear Zealio R1  
GMK Hyperfuse
'Split everything' perfection  
MX Clear
SA Hack'd by Geeks     
EasyAVR mod

Offline jamster

« Reply #2 on: Fri, 20 August 2021, 10:20:11 »