Author Topic: Buying my first mechanical keyboard. Give me some suggestions, please?  (Read 8041 times)

Offline Dzulang

Hey there! Just found this site and hoping you all can help.

I have never used a mechanical keyboard before, so all I know is what I've read. I was looking for a keyboard that's TKL/60% in size, LED back lit, and I'm not really sure what MX switch to get. I do a lot of gaming, and I code quite a bit too. I was thinking Cherry MX Brown; but since I don't know what a "Tactile" key press feels like, I'm not really sure. I'm also hesitant on getting a 60% in fear of it being difficult to use for coding. So if you code and use/have used a 60% board before, would you recommend it or not? Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Offline Hellcatz

Re: Buying my first mechanical keyboard. Give me some suggestions, please?
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 27 December 2014, 18:11:03 »
What is your budget?

Offline Dzulang

« Reply #2 on: Sat, 27 December 2014, 18:19:05 »
What is your budget?

$130-$170. Could probably do $200ish too, but wouldn't want to go much higher than that.

Offline Hellcatz

« Reply #3 on: Sat, 27 December 2014, 18:21:59 »
Did you get my pm?

Offline Liar

« Reply #4 on: Sat, 27 December 2014, 18:23:38 »
https://www.massdrop.com/buy/varmilo-mechanical-keyboard

I just got one for Christmas with MX Clears and Side-Printed Mint keycaps, the quality of the keyboard is fantastic, and the PBT keycaps feel great on the fingertips.

Backlighting is available, as well as a wide variety of switches (I recommend the Clears if you like some tactile feedback while typing/gaming, I found Browns to be not tactile enough)

Offline rowdy

• HHKB Hapster
  • * Erudite Elder
  • Missed another sale.
« Reply #5 on: Sun, 28 December 2014, 00:22:28 »
CODE or Ducky shine with MX clears, perhaps?

Browns tend to feel gritty.

Maybe blues or greens if you like the noise.