geekhack Community > Ergonomics

Question on ergonomic desk setup settings

(1/1)

sikhanegi:
Hey folks.

I have been doing a good amount of research lately on getting my desk, keyboard and mouse setup for the most optimal settings possible.

I am a developer/keyboard warrior, so long days at my desk with hands on keyboard are the norm. That said, being comfy and protecting myself are key.

I really just have a few specifc questions that i was looking for pointers on.
First, my settings:
6'3" tall
210 pounds I am quite active when not working.

Main questions are around settings:

how high should my desk be? I have a adjustable desk (standing/sitting desk with motor and saved settings). I keep adjusting this one and keep trying to find out what are the best settings

how high should my chair be? Coincides with number 1 as I would think they relate to one another.

Last one is hand posiitiono on the keyboard AND desk. What I mean is, where should my hands "fall" on the desk? Shoudl they be close to the edge? Should they be closer to the monitor? Should my arms partially rest on the desk?

Those really are the things I am looking for guidance on.

One last thing: IN regards to the keyboard, i have been testing out a kinesis advantage 2, which I quite like. It is very comfortable, but the keyboard is a little taller. I need to take that into account when setting up the desk and chair.

In the end, i am working to be proactive and avoid any injuries while being comfy and productive.

Much appreciated!

Mandan:

--- Quote from: sikhanegi on Mon, 01 May 2023, 05:08:37 ---how high should my desk be? I have a adjustable desk (standing/sitting desk with motor and saved settings). I keep adjusting this one and keep trying to find out what are the best settings

how high should my chair be? Coincides with number 1 as I would think they relate to one another.

--- End quote ---