Author Topic: Looking for high quality PBT keycaps  (Read 11018 times)

Offline Shawnlee1998

Looking for high quality PBT keycaps
« on: Thu, 15 December 2022, 22:49:51 »
I am very new to this hobby and recently have completed a mode 80 build. I am trying to replace my keycaps. I am looking for a good set of PBT keycaps but brands like GMK sell ABS. What brands are advisable if I want good PBT keycaps? Also is there a list of all PBT keycap designs released? I have been looking at the autumn leaves groupbuy on Keebsforall but I have heard bad things about GBs (mainly delays). Is this the case for keebsforall as well?

TLDR = Need a list of good PBT keycap stores

Offline Slywanin

• Abdul Lutfi is my name.
Re: Looking for high quality PBT keycaps
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 30 December 2022, 12:04:39 »
I'll 2nd you. Same here!

Offline herfalerf

« Reply #2 on: Sat, 31 December 2022, 10:19:48 »
Welcome to the hobby.  Many consider CRP to be the pinnacle of newly produced PBT keycaps, but you will have to wait for extra on the next group buy round which recently ran.  Other brands that are worth checking out are XMI (sold through 21kb in the us) and Shenpo if you know how to China.  The PBT sets sold by Cannonkeys and Novelkeys are both pretty decent quality as well if you are looking for something other than beige. 

I would recommend staying away from any PBT set that is reverse dye sub.  Basically any set with a darker cap color than font color is likely have the entire keycap dyed instead of just the legend.  This leads to inconsistent coloring, warping, shrinking and other undesirable quality control issues.  Anything super colorful is likely to use this method and this is why companies like GMK produce exclusively in ABS as it allows them to doubleshot and maintain a higher level of QC.