Author Topic: Matias Ergo Pro Review  (Read 21804 times)

Offline ergo_typing

Matias Ergo Pro Review
« on: Thu, 09 July 2015, 09:40:29 »
Matias Ergo Pro Review

TL;DR
If you want a sturdy, professionally made split mechanical keyboard, the Ergo Pro is the one you want.

Keyboard Background
To place this review in context, my previous keyboard experience is: Kinesis Freestyle, Ergodox (Cherry Red with PBT caps) and now the Ergo Pro. I also used an AEKII back in the day so I have had some previous ALPS experience but not in recent typing history.

Overall Build
The first impressions of a keyboard are always informed by the feel of the thing. I believe this is the first Matias keyboard with a matt finish. I think this is an excellent materials choice, as the Ergo Pro isn't a fingerprint magnet. The only downside is the surface seems to collect dust quite easily, but if it's a choice between dust and fingerprints -- this is the right choice.

The body of the keyboard itself is very sturdy and reassuringly heavy. Thanks to nine rubber feet on each panel, regardless of ergonomic settings (see Ergonomics below), this keyboard does not slide around. Once you have found the ideal position for you, the panels aren't going anywhere. The body is a little on the large size, but you get all the function keys and some dedicated cut/copy/paste keys, should that be of interest. Here is a stack of the Ergodox, Kinesis Freestyle and the Ergo Pro to give a relative size comparison.

"Stack of keyboards"

I have a confession -- I've never used a wrist rest before. I've always been a touch typer and was taught to float my wrists, so scorned those with them. I suspected I would be detaching the wrist rests from the keyboard and finding a different tenting solution.

* ergo_typing looks embarrassed and scuffs foot on the floor