Author Topic: Is designing a custom PCB for an existing case acceptable?  (Read 1351 times)

Offline sebi707

Is designing a custom PCB for an existing case acceptable?
« on: Tue, 26 January 2021, 12:31:26 »
I'm quite new to the custom keyboard community and have yet to build my first board. I really prefer the ISO layout, but unfortunately I have noticed that not all keyboards support ISO. Since I have some background in electronics and I already have designed some PCBs (not keyboard related) I thought I could just make a PCB myself. I this generally an acceptable practice or has this be done in the past? I guess if I just make them for myself nobody will care, but say if I try to sell leftover PCBs? Of course I wouldn't rip-off the original PCB design, but the PCB outline and switch position has to match obviously. I have no specific board in mind yet.

Offline suicidal_orange

• * Global Moderator
Re: Is designing a custom PCB for an existing case acceptable?
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 26 January 2021, 12:52:58 »
Are you talking about commercial boards or customs as seen in group buys?  There have been plenty of PCBs made to fit original Cherry boards to add programmability and the original 60% DIY case/mounting is based on the Vortex Poker so there's plenty of history there, the company gets your money for the case so they're happy.  Looking at customs many use a fixed layout plate because it looks and functions better than a universal but underneath is a PCB that supports ISO so you wouldn't be the first person to ask for the plate file to make an ISO version.
120/100g linear Zealio R1  
GMK Hyperfuse
'Split everything' perfection  
MX Clear
SA Hack'd by Geeks     
EasyAVR mod

Offline TalkingTree

• My projects
« Reply #2 on: Tue, 26 January 2021, 13:08:11 »
I this generally an acceptable practice or has this be done in the past?
Many, myself included, have done so. Either controller boards or entire PCBs.

say if I try to sell leftover PCBs?