Author Topic: 3DConnexion SpaceNavigator  (Read 6208 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Chloe

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 679
  • Switch Kitten
3DConnexion SpaceNavigator
« on: Sat, 13 December 2008, 17:36:05 »
I really like the look of this thing:
http://www.3dconnexion.com/

Offline lowpoly

  • Posts: 1749
3DConnexion SpaceNavigator
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 13 December 2008, 17:44:27 »
I have one since last week. It's quite heavy which is necessary for pulling up. You use it with your left hand so you can use that and the mouse at the same time.

Also works with Google Earth and Virtual Earth.

Miniguru thread at GH // The Apple M0110 Today

Offline lowpoly

  • Posts: 1749
3DConnexion SpaceNavigator
« Reply #2 on: Sat, 13 December 2008, 17:45:26 »
Now the only thing I need is that Griffin volume thing.

Miniguru thread at GH // The Apple M0110 Today

Offline Chloe

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 679
  • Switch Kitten
3DConnexion SpaceNavigator
« Reply #3 on: Sat, 13 December 2008, 18:02:55 »
It looks quite small, I don't really use any 3D apps though. Maybe with AutoHotkey it could be useful to me. I have desk room for something else on the left.

Offline wellington1869

  • Posts: 2885
3DConnexion SpaceNavigator
« Reply #4 on: Sat, 13 December 2008, 18:11:58 »
would be any use with non-3d apps?

"Blah blah blah grade school blah blah blah IBM PS/2s blah blah blah I like Model Ms." -- Kishy

using: ms 7000/Das 3

Offline Chloe

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 679
  • Switch Kitten
3DConnexion SpaceNavigator
« Reply #5 on: Sat, 13 December 2008, 18:23:58 »
It looks like it comes with some mapping software:
http://www.kbdmania.net/board/icon/member_image_box/4878/app.jpg

Offline Chloe

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 679
  • Switch Kitten
3DConnexion SpaceNavigator
« Reply #6 on: Sat, 13 December 2008, 19:12:14 »
Does it come with its own mapping software? I saw this but it looks like the OS:
http://www.kbdmania.net/board/icon/member_image_box/4878/app.jpg

Offline D-EJ915

  • Posts: 489
  • Location: USA
3DConnexion SpaceNavigator
« Reply #7 on: Sat, 13 December 2008, 22:13:18 »
that one sucks ass imo, although I'm used to the old spaceballs so I'm probably biased.  You weren't able to use them as a sort of mouse-like controller before which would be the bomb and a trackpoint-of-god sort of thing but alas...

Offline lowpoly

  • Posts: 1749
3DConnexion SpaceNavigator
« Reply #8 on: Sun, 14 December 2008, 13:56:19 »
I had a SpaceMouse for many years and IIRC that one could be used as a mouse. Back then I tried it and didn't like it. May have been the driver or I wasn't ready for it. The SpaceMouse is the same thing in a bigger case with more buttons.

Didn't find the mouse option with the new controller software.

Miniguru thread at GH // The Apple M0110 Today

Offline lowpoly

  • Posts: 1749
3DConnexion SpaceNavigator
« Reply #9 on: Mon, 15 December 2008, 08:06:44 »
I think you can use it as mouse or joystick:

http://www.3dconnexion.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=1059#1059

Miniguru thread at GH // The Apple M0110 Today

Offline FunkTrooper

  • Posts: 44
    • http://funktrooper.t35.com/
3DConnexion SpaceNavigator
« Reply #10 on: Tue, 16 December 2008, 18:50:15 »
i'm not liking the whole licensing bit, as shown on this page. http://www.3dconnexion.com/3dmouse/spacenavigator.php
looks like you need a license just to use the thing. that really sucks. i'd steer well clear of it. i would really fear what sort of horrible, closed-source, badly written drivers are required to make it work.

Offline Chloe

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 679
  • Switch Kitten
3DConnexion SpaceNavigator
« Reply #11 on: Tue, 16 December 2008, 21:17:59 »
I don't like the idea of a license either. I don't see why a HID needs one.

Offline lowpoly

  • Posts: 1749
3DConnexion SpaceNavigator
« Reply #12 on: Sat, 20 December 2008, 17:35:11 »
The license is needed for the software driver if you use it commercially. For private use you buy the cheaper personal edition (which you could upgrade for $40 to commercial).

That's fairly common with shareware too.

It doesn't use the HID driver.

Miniguru thread at GH // The Apple M0110 Today

Offline hotswank

  • Posts: 33
3DConnexion SpaceNavigator
« Reply #13 on: Thu, 05 March 2009, 10:53:23 »
Quote from: lowpoly;14869
I think you can use it as mouse or joystick:

http://www.3dconnexion.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=1059#1059


Have you tried it as a Steering wheel in race games like Need for Speed, Colin McRae Dirt, Race Driver, GTR etc.?