Author Topic: Keys not working  (Read 2115 times)

Offline ronnieb555

Keys not working
« on: Tue, 01 June 2021, 08:07:27 »
Hi everyone, this is my first keyboard mod/solder.

My keyboard is a Keychron K2V2 UK-ISO and my plan was to de-solder all the switches to lube/film them and also fix the stabs. Unfortunately after doing that, when it came to soldering the switches back into the keyboard the soldering iron's tips that I purchased started to melt and looks to have caused damage to some of the contact points on the PCB.

From my testing so far the M key and also every key on the second row down (Numbers, backspace, etc...) all do not work. The contact points on the M and backspace key look "burnt" to me so I think that's why it isn't working but I am no expert so I'm hoping for someone's advice to see if this keyboard can be saved?

Fortunately the company that sold me the soldering iron have admitted fault and compensated me, but ideally I would still like to save the keyboard.

I've attached images of the PCB and the two contacts that look "burnt" to me. Also there are 3 empty switch locations as with the iron melting I stopped soldering and wasn't able to solder in those switches.

Does anyone have any advice on what to do or if this can be saved?

Offline ronnieb555

Re: Keys not working
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 01 June 2021, 08:13:05 »
Just for a laugh I thought I'd include pictures of the melted tips :D

Offline MajorKoos

• 1 life please. Extra large.
« Reply #2 on: Tue, 01 June 2021, 09:10:13 »
YOLO it and finish soldering it up.
As long as you haven’t lifted pads off the pcb or melted the switches you should be fine.

Offline ronnieb555

« Reply #3 on: Tue, 01 June 2021, 09:28:27 »
YOLO it and finish soldering it up.
As long as you haven’t lifted pads off the pcb or melted the switches you should be fine.

:D Could it not damage the board further though if it continues to melt?