Author Topic: Super n00b here looking for some basic help  (Read 5447 times)

Offline megaKeys

Super n00b here looking for some basic help
« on: Sat, 18 January 2020, 15:43:31 »
A very generous friend of mine gifted me this set up, however i am looking for my own keycaps.  I do have a Mac and am looking for a set that has Mac keys.  I have no idea what layout or type this board is, if anyone here could help me identify the layout so i can buy the right keycaps.

Thank you in advance anyone.  Looking forward to get this beast up and running

Offline HungerMechanic

Re: Super n00b here looking for some basic help
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 18 January 2020, 15:59:15 »
I'm no expert, but that looks like a standard ANSI TKL (ten-key-less). It should be compatible with almost any set you can buy.

Looks like it may be using Cherry MX Clears, a fairly tactile switch by Cherry standards.

Now you just need to find some keycaps that have Mac labels, and remap them in the OS if necessary.

Offline megaKeys

« Reply #2 on: Sat, 18 January 2020, 16:37:25 »
So I bought this https://www.amazon.com/YMDK-Profile-Standard-Switches-Keyboard/dp/B07JR94835

But it seems the space bar is too small.  I like these keys though, do you know what size space bar I may need?  I think it would be cool to have an accent space bar.

Offline HungerMechanic

« Reply #3 on: Sat, 18 January 2020, 20:41:49 »
Interesting. Maybe someone with a more practiced eye can help you out. Many keyboards in that size have four keys to the right of the spacebar, not three, so perhaps it is a non-standard bottom-row.

Once you find the size, you will be able to get a replacement key. There are various accent spacebars available in many sizes now.

Offline bliss

« Reply #4 on: Fri, 24 January 2020, 10:03:49 »
Also mind the the off-centered Caps Lock

Offline ilikerustoo

« Reply #5 on: Fri, 24 January 2020, 10:07:24 »
The bottom row looks like Tsangan,and the off centered caps lock may be for a stepped caps lock