Author Topic: FAQ, making my first 96key(not%) DIY Keyboard  (Read 4709 times)

Offline HenryManson

FAQ, making my first 96key(not%) DIY Keyboard
« on: Wed, 03 May 2023, 10:18:54 »
Moinsen!
First of all, i hope this is the right Thread!,since this isnt about a "keyboard" yet, but basic keyboard-making knowledge, so i wasnt sure where to put this, but "making stuff together" seemed to be the closest thing!, so here i am!

A While ago,i decided, that i want to build my own Keyboard from scratch (PCB & All) because the 96key(not%) Layout i prefer to have isnt on the Market, strangely.
I am Electrician by Trade, building my own PCs since the '90s & do RC as Hobby and did some basic Programming back in the Days, so i know a thing or two about Electronics & Computers, but not enough about PCB's & Programming yet [At the Moment im in the middle of wrapping my head around KI-Cad7 to make that PCB, what an adventure  ;D]
But since i have never done something like this before, i got alot to learn and certain questions came up, that would be very helpful, if someone could just answer them for me insted of long frustrating google & co searches for tiny details & specifics.
This list is neither in Order, nor Complete(i bet  ;)) but these are questions i just couldnt find a definitive answer by myself yet, so any clarification on these points would be much appreciated!
Im aware that its likely,some my questions are answered in this forum somewhere, but to keep my sanity intact, i think putting them all together in this one thread is the better choice , so forgive my boldness  :rolleyes:
Im gonna cross out answered ones, so stuff doesnt get confusing & i hope i dont get confused either, doing this project :thumb:

Thanks to all who are willing to help out!
Peace
mho

Function FAQ:
1-can keys fully randomly be programmed inside the IC or does the matrix diktate wich keyvalue the OS gets?
2-are NUM & ROLL  function hard-(pcb wired) or software ?