Author Topic: [Help] KBD75/QMK backlighting problem  (Read 4297 times)

Offline Skull_Angel

[Help] KBD75/QMK backlighting problem
« on: Sat, 14 October 2017, 16:57:18 »
Hi guys,

So it's been a few days enjoying my new KBD75 (white PCB with split-space option/reset button) and I realize a few of the RGB backlight LEDs like to go out randomly. My Google-fu seems to be weak with this one since all I've been able to find are basic hardware issues regarding QMK based boards and vague "QMK has weirdness with lighting" posts.

I've checked my joints as well as the factory SMD joints; while some of the factory joints could be a little cleaner, I don't see any problems. I've checked my USB power settings to see if it may be entering a low-power state and causing the lights to lose power, but it doesn't seem to be the case either (still monitoring). I'm still new to using QMK and have been using the browser tool to create hex code to flash; it seems to work perfectly fine, but I'll attach a copy if anyone's up to checking it out.

It only seems to happen to the LEDs on the front corners of the PCB and only in static mode, but I'm still testing other modes. Some times it's only the LEDs at the very corners, but other times it extends to the first two on either or both side. I haven't found any triggers for the issue to arise; some times it happens while using the board, other times while it's running idle.

I don't have any LEDs installed aside from the PCB mounted RGBs used for backlighting; I could do with or without the lighting, but since the case was designed with backlighting in mind and it's there, I like to have it working properly, lol.

Any help is appreciated.

180224-0

Offline rich1051414

Re: [Help] KBD75/QMK backlighting problem
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 15 October 2017, 08:46:47 »