Author Topic: TKL or less layout for arthritis battered fingertips  (Read 4569 times)

Offline letsfixitinpost

TKL or less layout for arthritis battered fingertips
« on: Thu, 18 January 2018, 10:39:46 »
I've been searching the forums for some posts on this, but I have a more in depth question.  I have RA, my hands aren't damaged but they are always in some short pain.  I work as a video editor all day, then I game sometimes too, so it can be tough.  I've been trying to replace my k70 for a few months. I just cant decide on what to do.  For a long time I got fixated on the idea of silver switches, but then I tried Topre and it felt like a new world.  I tried the 55g which is a bit heavy, but I've read that dropping down to the 35 has been a sweet spot for a lot of people.  My question is where can I find a 35g Topre board?  I really like the realforce 87u, it seems perfect, but only seems to exist in a variable or 55g.  Im also looking at the happy hacking which is slightly too small, but has a usb pass through.  Any suggestions?  I hate to say this, but money isn't an option.  i work every day on my keyboard so whatever it takes to improve the situation at home, and on this chiclet apple nightmare at work. 

I hope I'm doing this right.  I have social anxiety issues because of all my arthritis problems so when I post online I get worried Im going to get flamed.

Offline Tactile

Re: TKL or less layout for arthritis battered fingertips
« Reply #1 on: Thu, 18 January 2018, 10:44:23 »
In 35 gram it's much easier to find clones than genuine Topre. Something like this.
REΛLFORCE

Offline suicidal_orange

• * Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: Thu, 18 January 2018, 10:58:21 »
Welcome to GH :)

No flames here but we are mostly young and I for one am not familiar with RA - can you explain what causes the pain and what you don't like about the chiclet board?  Also what switches are in your K70 so we have a rerference?