Author Topic: Is a trackball mouse for me?  (Read 6429 times)

Offline ichirichi

Is a trackball mouse for me?
« on: Fri, 27 August 2010, 04:57:30 »
I am a coder, and I am at work 9 to 6.  When I get home, I am on my PC playing FPS 80% of the time for a few hours! :)  My wrist is starting to ache and there is definetly a sort spot on the bottom right of my hand!

You guys have already convinced me to get a mechanical keyboard, and now the question is... should I get a trackball ?  

If so, what should I get? I don't plan to game with them as I have never heard anyone tell me a trackball is good for gaming and so it will primarily for work use.  Being able to change the ball for something cool looking would be a bonus :)

Offline iMav

• geekhack creator/founder
  • "Τα εργαλεία σας είναι σημαντικά."
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 27 August 2010, 05:12:38 »
Definitely give a trackball a try.  And I suggest giving it a month before deciding whether to stick with it or not.  That radical of a change will feel awkward and uncomfortable initially.  (at least that is my personal experience...takes me a few weeks of dedicated use before I adapt to a new trackball)

Offline zmurf

• Cherry G803000LQC With Latest Generation Trackpoint
« Reply #2 on: Fri, 27 August 2010, 05:19:12 »
Coder? Trackpoint FTW! Never leave home row!

:)

I have a Logitech TrackMan Marble FX as secondary pointer device (I use Trackpoint primarily). I find that to be the best trackball I have ever owned (or used). I bought it back in -97.

Its nice to use the trackball as a change sometimes. I would guess that I use the Trackpoint on my keyboard for 90% of all movement of the pointer and the rest 10% I rest my hand on the trackball.
« Last Edit: Fri, 27 August 2010, 15:03:35 by zmurf »
At last! A mechanical keyboard with Trackpoint of my own! Now with Hyper-Scroll! And also Ergo-Clear switches. Ohh... look... custom keys! :D

Offline ichirichi

« Reply #3 on: Fri, 27 August 2010, 05:32:54 »